Buhari finally orders reopening of land borders after 16 months


President Muhammadu Buhari has ordered the immediate reopening of four land borders.

The Presidency made this known on Wednesday, December 16, 2020.

A tweet from @NGRPresident read; “President Buhari has directed the immediate opening of four land borders: Seme, Illela, Maigatari, and Mfun”.

Nigeria had in August 2019 closed its land borders to curtail illegal importation of agricultural products, small arms and drugs, into the country from neighbouring West African nations.

Minister of Finance, Budget and National Planning, Zainab Ahmed, after a Federal Executive Council meeting, FEC, on Wednesday, announced the reopening of Seme Border in Lagos State, Illela Border in Sokoto State, Maigatari Border in Jigawa State, and Mfun Border in Cross River State .

She said other borders would be reopened before Dec. 31, 2020.

READ ALSO:Edo Organised Labour Rejects Strike Suspension By National Labour Leadership

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top